ALCTS Calls for Nominations for 2018 Awards

Each year ALCTS and its sections honor librarians and information professionals for outstanding and potential achievement in serials, cataloging, acquisitions, published scholarship, preservation, and general technical services librarianship. This year ALCTS once again seeks nominations for the 2018 ALCTS awards.

What colleagues influence your thought and practice as a technical services librarian? Nominate them so that their contributions to the field are recognized! The deadline for all award nominations is December 1, 2017.

Recipients will then be selected by award juries that are composed of their peers.

Writing & Publishing

The Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award is given to the author(s) of the best paper published each year in the official journal of the Association for Library Collections & Technical Services, Library Resources & Technical Services.

The ALCTS Outstanding Publication Award honors the author(s) of the year’s outstanding monograph, article, or original paper in the field of technical services, including acquisitions, cataloging, collection management, preservation, continuing resources and related areas in the library field.


The Outstanding Collaboration Citation recognizes and encourages collaborative problem-solving efforts in the areas of acquisition, access, management, preservation, or archiving of library materials. It recognizes a demonstrated benefit from actions, services, or products that improve and benefit providing and managing library collections.

ProQuest Coutts Award for Innovation recognizes significant and innovative contributions to electronic collections management and development practice.

Professional Achievement

The Ross Atkinson Lifetime Achievement Award honors the legacy of Ross Atkinson, distinguished library leader, author, and scholar, whose extraordinary service to ALCTS and the library community at-large serves as a model for those who follow.

The Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award honors the life and accomplishments of Hugh C. Atkinson by soliciting nominations and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of an academic librarian who has worked in the areas of library automation or library management and has made contributions (including risk taking) toward the improvement of library services or to library development or research.

The Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris Preservation Award honors the memory of Paul Banks and Carolyn Harris, early leaders in library preservation, and recognizes the contribution of a professional preservation specialist who has been active in the field of preservation and/or conservation for library and/or archival materials.

The George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg Award honors the memory of George Cunha and Susan Swartzburg, early leaders in cooperative preservation programming and strong advocates for collaboration in the field of preservation, and recognizes individuals or groups that foster collaboration for preservation goals.

The Esther J. Piercy Award honors the memory of Esther J. Piercy, editor of Journal of Cataloging and Classification from 1950 to 1956 and of Library Resources & Technical Services from 1957 to 1967, and recognizes the contribution to those areas of librarianship included in library collections and technical services by a librarian with not more than 10 years of professional experience who has shown outstanding promise for continuing contribution and leadership.

The Margaret Mann Citation recognizes outstanding professional achievement in cataloging or classification either through publication of significant professional literature, participation in professional cataloging associations, or valuable contributions to practice in individual libraries.

The HARRASSOWITZ Award for Leadership in Library Acquisitions Award recognize the contributions by and outstanding leadership of an individual to the field of acquisitions librarianship.

The Ulrich’s Serials Librarianship Award recognizes distinguished contributions to serials librarianship.

Presidential Citations, awarded by the current ALCTS President, honor ALCTS members who make significant contributions to the association and to the profession but whose accomplishments do not fall within the criteria for ALCTS’ other awards.

ALCTS Honors, given by the ALCTS Board of Directors, recognize outstanding contributions at all levels within ALCTS, stellar dedication to service, uncompromising commitment to excellence, willingness to accept challenges, and a sustained and exemplary record of moving ALCTS forward.

Achievement for Newer Professionals

The First Step Award, a Wiley Professional Development Grant, provides librarians new to the continuing resources field with the opportunity to broaden their perspective by supporting travel to the ALA Annual Conference.

The Jan Merrill-Oldham Professional Development Grant honors the career and influence of Jan Merrill-Oldham, distinguished leader, author, and mentor in the field of library and archives preservation. The grant provides librarians and paraprofessionals new to the preservation field with the opportunity to attend a professional conference and participate at the national level by supporting airfare, lodging, and registration fees to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

Lois Mai Chan Professional Development Grant honors the career and influence of Lois Mai Chan, distinguished leader, author, and mentor in the field of metadata creation and standards. The grant provides librarians and paraprofessionals from under-represented groups new to the metadata field with the opportunity to attend a professional conference and participate at the national level by supporting airfare, lodging, and registration fees to attend the ALA Annual Conference.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.