IFLA 2017 Subject Analysis & Access Section Report

The IFLA (International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions) Subject Analysis and Access Section held its open session on Monday, August 21, at the 2017 World Library and Information Congress (WLIC) in Wrocław, Poland.

Building with welcome banner Panelist delivering paper

The program, which was co-sponsored and organized with the Bibliography Section, was entitled “Challenging Society and Naming Identity: Subject Access and Bibliography in a Multicultural World.” Approximately 90 people attended the program—a good number for a late afternoon session.

Moderated by Standing Committee member John DeSantis, the program included the following four presentations:

Presentations from the program are available online in the IFLA Library.

Standing Committee

The Standing Committee of the Subject Analysis and Access Section met twice during the 2017 Congress, first on Saturday, August 19 and again on Thursday, August 24. John DeSantis (United States) was elected as Chair of the section; Elise Conradi (Norway) was elected as Secretary; and Harriet Aagaard (Sweden) was re-elected as Information Coordinator. Several committee members completed their terms, and the Standing Committee welcomed a number of new members, including two from the United States: Athena Salaba (Kent State University) and Caroline Saccucci (Library of Congress). Other continuing U.S. members of the Standing Committee are George Prager (New York University) and Sally McCallum (Library of Congress).

Group portrait

The Section will be holding both an open session program and a satellite conference during the 2018 Congress in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. The topic of the open session program will be automatic indexing. We formed a program committee, chaired by Athena Salaba, which is working on a good title for the open session. Harriet Aagaard is part of another group that is planning the satellite conference in Kuala Lumpur with the Cataloguing Section and the Information Technology Section. The topic of the satellite conference will be related to universal bibliographic control.

Working Groups

The Subject Analysis and Access Section Standing Committee currently has two working groups. The Genre/Form Working Group continues its work under the leadership of co-chairs Ricardo Santos Muñoz, a member of the Cataloguing Section Standing Committee, and George Prager, a member of the Subject Analysis and Access Section Standing Committee. A new working group on Automatic Indexing was formed during this conference, and it will be chaired by Harriet Aagaard, Information Coordinator of the Subject Analysis and Access Section.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.