Cronin Elected ALCTS President for 2019–2022

Christopher Cronin, ALCTS President-elect
Christopher Cronin, ALCTS President-elect

Christopher Cronin, associate university librarian for collections at Columbia University, has been elected the 2020–2021 President of ALCTS. He will serve as president-elect for one year before becoming ALCTS president on July 1, 2020.

Cronin has held various technical services–related positions at academic institutions including the University of Chicago where he was director of technical services and at the University of Colorado at Boulder where he served as head of digital resources cataloging, electronic resources cataloger, and assistant professor. Cronin holds a B.A. in English from the University of British Columbia and an MISt from the University of Toronto.

Within ALCTS, Cronin has been active in the Technical Services Directors of Large Research Libraries Interest Group (2013–2017), ALCTS Editorial Board (2012–2016), Library Resources & Technical Services (LRTS) (2012–2016), LRTS Business Model Task Force (2016), Low-Barrier Metadata Creation Group, (2014–2015), Cataloging and Metadata Management Section (CaMMS) Nominating Committee (2014), Transforming Collections Task Force (2011–2013), Heads of Cataloging Interest Group (2010–2012; chair, 2011–2012), Task Force on Cost/Value Assessment of Bibliographic Control (2009–2010), Committee on Cataloging: Description and Access (CC:DA) Task Force on the Review of Functional Requirements for Subject Authority Data (FRSAD) (2009), Subject Analysis Committee (SAC) (2007–2011), SAC Subcommittee on Form/Genre Headings (2006–2007), and the Committee on Cataloging: Description and Access (CC:DA) Task Force to Review ISBD(ER): International Standard Bibliographic Description for Electronic Resources (2004). 

In addition to his service to ALCTS, Cronin has been involved with Ivy Plus Libraries Confederation, OCLC Global Council, OCLC Americas Regional Council, OCLC Research Libraries Partners (RLP), Program for Cooperative Cataloging (PCC), Big Ten Academic Alliance, Collaborative Digitization Program (CDP), and Colorado Alliance of Research Libraries. He has been a member of the American Library Association (ALA) for 15 years.

Cronin has also won an array of honors and awards including the ALCTS Edward Swanson Memorial Best of LRTS Award for the article “Assessing the Cost and Value of Bibliographic Control” (LRTS, vol. 55, no. 3, 2011); Emerald Literati Network 2006 Award of Excellence for Highly Commended Paper for “The Flight Plan of a Digital Initiatives Project: Providing Remote Access to Aerial Photographs of Colorado” (OCLC Systems & Services: International Digital Library Perspectives, 2006); University of Toronto, Gordon Cressy Leadership Award (2002); and the University of Toronto Alumni Association Jubilee Award (2002). Christopher Cronin was also an ALA Emerging Leader in 2007.

Lori Robare, monographic team leader at University of Oregon, was elected to a three-year term as director-at-large to the ALCTS Board of Directors.

Elected as section chairs for 2019-2022 were:

  • Acquisitions, Angie Ohler, University of Maryland, College Park
  • Cataloging and Metadata Management, Amber Billey, Bard College
  • Collection Management, Erika Ripley, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Continuing Resources, Steve Kelley, Wake Forest University
  • Preservation and Reformatting, Martha Horan, University of Miami

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.